ACC Law Department Management Committee December Newsletter
IN THIS ISSUE...
Message from the Chair  
Law Department Management Committee Leadership Team  
List of Upcoming Events  
Sponsor Highlights  
Law Department Management YouTube Channel  
Ready to Volunteer?  
Networks
Virtual Library
Renew Your Membership
Update Your Records
Upcoming ACC Programs
Search Back Issues

Webcasts
Updates From ACC Committees

Message from the Chair
Stephen Roth, Vice-President & General Counsel

I’m going to make a bold statement. Every member of the ACC should join the Law Department Management Committee.

Why you ask?  I’ll give you three reasons: New York, Elvis and YouTube.

As you might expect, the first reason involves a road trip. A couple of years ago, the ACC Chapter of Greater New York invited me to speak on emotional intelligence.  One of the other speakers on the panel was Fred Krebs, a former President of the ACC, who presented a study entitled The 21st Century General Counsel. 

One of the things Fred said has stuck with me. In the in-house realm, substantive expertise and excellence are presumed. While important, they’re table stakes. They’ll get you in the door and keep you there, but substantive knowledge alone won’t propel your career forward.

What does? Intangible qualities like emotional intelligence, executive presence, leadership, grit.  Put another way, the special ingredient is the ability to lead and interact with others to move the company ahead.

These critical qualities are our mission in LDM. And over the years, I’ve realized that you can’t find this focus anywhere else. Every now and then, the ABA or your local CLE provider may cobble together a session on a topic like this. But it’s a one and done. At best, such programming is sporadic and inconsistent.

On these essential core skills, we’re anything but sporadic.  They are what we focus on month after month.  And by doing that, we can help guide you to the next level.

I think I can predict your next question:  what is this thing about Elvis?  Elvis is a symbol, a symbol of our commitment to having a great time.  At LDM, fun is a goal.

Our business meeting at the 2017 ACC Annual Meeting was a case in point. LDM hosted one of the most unique business meetings I’ve ever attended. The week before, an Elvis cutout appeared for photo ops with LDM members in San Francisco, Chicago, LA, Atlanta and Boston as he travelled to the annual meeting. We posted the images on LinkedIn, Twitter and on the ACC eGroups. The King of Rock & Roll then arrived at our business meeting for selfies with our members. 

And there was more. At the LDM business meeting, our fantastic sponsor Seyfarth Shaw, arranged for us to create videos about what we all plan to do to reach the next level.

Not surprisingly, we had a record crowd. And the energy was palpable.

Finally, there’s YouTube. In early December, we’ll be launching the LDM YouTube channel, the first of any ACC committee.  It’s where we’ll post those cool videos from the annual meeting. You’ll see your friends in the ACC talking about how they’ll move forward in their careers. 

Some of these videos will make you think. Some will crack you up. Some will do both. Stay tuned.

So, I’ll say it again. Every ACC member should be a member of LDM. Join us as we head down the path to the next level. And the best part? You’ll be in great company, because we’re going on this trip together.  
[ Return to Top ]


Law Department Management Committee Leadership Team
Welcome and congratulations to the LDMC Leadership Team for 2017-2018

Name

Position

Email

Stephen Roth

Chair

stephen.roth@jtv.com

Timothy  Phillips

Vice-Chair

timothy.phillips@cancer.org

Jessica Garner

Secretary

Jessica.Garner@crackerbarrel.com

Matt Nolan

Immed. Past Chair

matt.nolan@gmail.com

Matt Nolan

Co-Chair, Membership

matt.nolan@gmail.com

Gemma Heckendorf

Co-Chair, Membership

gemma.heckendorf@csgi.com

Laura Danysh

Co-Chair, Membership

Laura.Danysh@hilton.com

Gemma Heckendorf

Chair, Strategy & Operations

gemma.heckendorf@csgi.com

Andrew Macan

Co-Chair, Communications

andrew.macan@axaltacs.com

David Gilmartin

Co-Chair, Communications

dgilmartin@jointcommission.org

Abraham Mertens

Co-Chair, Programs

abraham@arista.com

Julie Presas

 Co-Chair, Programs

presasj@oclc.org

Stephanie Shores Lambert

Co-Chair, GC/CLO

stephanie.shoreslambert@staples.com

Kelly Slavitt

Co-Chair, GC/CLO

kelly.slavitt@rb.com

Mark Smolik

Co-Chair, Webcasts

mark.smolik@dhl.com

Matthew Teismann

Co-Chair, Webcasts

matthew.teismann@omnioffshore.com

Brian Campbell

Co-Chair, Chapter Liaison

Brian.Campbell@dhigroupinc.com

Machelle Morey

Co-Chair, Chapter Liaison

machelle.morey@us.atlascopco.com

Justin Martin

Chair, Social Media

jmartin@epri.com

Jennifer Nelson

Chair, Advocacy

jnelson@prestigebrands.com

Jeff Brown

Co-Chair, Publications

jeff.brown@telusinternational.com

Dan Ehrlich

Co-Chair, Publications

DDEhrlich@Bemis.com

Please feel free to reach out to any of us with questions or ideas!



[ Return to Top ]


List of Upcoming Events
For details: http://www.acc.com/committees/ldmc/events/
January 10, 2018, 1:00 PM - Positive Professionals
[ Return to Top ]


Sponsor Highlights
Seyfarth Shaw

Hello LDMC Members,

It was great to meet and mingle with so many of you at the ACC Annual Meeting in Washington, DC. Our cocktail reception held in conjunction with the Law Department Management Committee at the Baby Wale was a blast. 

We enjoyed connecting with so many of the LDMC members both at the cocktail hours and Seyfarth Shaw booth. We strive to transform our learnings from the annual meeting and member surveys into meaningful content and programming. We have learned that many of you are interested in creating or increasing the skills needed to become or continue your relationship as a trusted business advisor to your organization.  Through our ongoing relationship with the ACC and the LDMC, we are continually inspired to level up our own approach to client service and collaboration. We want to help you level up your skills to bring greater value to your organization. To learn more about how we can help you level up, visit: www.seyfarth.com/levelup

We look forward to the rest of 2017 and ringing in the new year. Happy Holidays!
[ Return to Top ]


Law Department Management YouTube Channel
The Law Department Management Committee is excited about launching its video series on YouTube. Check out: https://youtu.be/PYnBgA1z688 for exciting new content about law department management.  Be sure to check back for updates.  
[ Return to Top ]


Ready to Volunteer?
The Law Department Management Committee still has availability for members to volunteer, so if you wish to volunteer your services for any of the LDMC activities/events, please email Matt Nolan - matt.nolan@gmail.com, Gemma Heckendorf - gemma.heckendorf@csgi.com, or Laura Danysh - Laura.Danysh@hilton.com.
[ Return to Top ]